Litvack, Morgan will not seek re-election to Utah Legislature

SALT LAKE CITY — Two longtime Democratic lawmakers announced Monday they will not be returning to the Legislature.

House Minority Leader David Litvack, D-Salt Lake, and Sen. Karen Morgan, D-Cottonwood, have decided not seek re-election.

“It has been a great honor and privilege to serve the citizens of my community in the Utah Legislature for the past 14 years.  I will deeply miss working with them, my colleagues, staff, advocates and many friends on Capitol Hill. I would like to thank everyone, especially my dear husband and family, for their unwavering support during my years of service,” Morgan said in a statement.

Morgan was first elected to the House in 1998 where she served for 10 years before being elected to the Senate in 2008.

Litvack said he’s looking forward to spend more time with his family.

“I’ve spent a long time on Capitol Hill and it has been an honor. I’ve loved every single issue that I had a chance to get involved in and advocate for, but after 12 years in the Legislature it’s time to let someone else take the reigns so I can spend further time with my family,” he said in a statement.

Litvack was first elected to the House in 2000, and has served in Democratic leadership the past four years.

Republican House leaders say Litvack will be missed.

“I’m sad to see him say he won’t be coming back,” said House Speaker Becky Lockhart, R-Provo. “He believes in finding solutions to problems and not just creating controversy.”

Leave a comment encourages a civil dialogue among its readers. We welcome your thoughtful comments.